Gold was discovered in 1891 by Robert Black along the Santa Fe Railway. By 1894 there were three
saloons one of which was owned by Virgil Earp brother of Wyatt Earp. Vanderbilt also supported several
eating houses one lodging house, a blacksmith, three general stores, a school, and a Post Office. There were
two ten stamp mills located at the Gold Bronze and Boomerang Mines. By 1900 the post office closed and the
town was dying. Today the site contains a few wooden buildings, shells of other structures made from rock,
lots of mine shafts, and a few headframes dot the hillsides. There is also a more recent mine and mill, the
Gold Bar Portal Mine and the Gold Dome Mill.
Old Santa Fe Railroad grade and bridge leading to Vanderbilt